Introducing the ATCO board

pic of me.jpg

Jason Salter

Jason has worked in local government and passenger transport for 31 years.  Starting his career with Devon County Council in their Transport Co-ordination Centre as a transport co-ordinator and moving to Wiltshire County Council in 1995, managing Special Educational Needs and Social Care transport.  Having various roles within the integrated passenger transport unit in Wiltshire, he is now the Head of Service in the now unitary Council.  He has been a member of ATCO for 25 years holding the position of Secretary for the South West region, then Chair and 3 years ago joined the board as Vice Chair and in 2019 as Chair.

A Varley.jpg

Andrew Varley

Andrew is currently Public Transport Manager at Lancashire County Council, having worked for the authority for over 30 years. Over that time he has held a number of roles within the wider public transport team with a large proportion of his career managing the public transport information and marketing function and a number of European projects . His current role now incorporates bus, rail, information, interchanges and bus stations, concessionary travel and community transport.


Andrew has been an active ATCO Member since about 1997 and has chaired the NW ATCO Information Special Interest Group for many years. He attends the ATCO Bus Executive and since 2018 sits on the ATCO Board. He represents ATCO on the Traveline Information Limited board and also represents the organisation on the DfT Bus Open Data Programme Board, offering advice from a wider local authority perspective.


Andrew also works closely with Transport for the North and represent Lancashire on the Smart and Integrated Travel Steering Group and Rail Officers Group.

2018-10-08 photo.JPG

Tracey Vobe

Tracey currently works for Suffolk County Council and has been in the transport field since 2004, becoming Education Transport Manager as a job shared position.  In 2006 they became Integrated Passenger Transport Manager and in 2017, Tracey took on the role of Head of Passenger Transport, full-time.  Tracey also holds the role of Vice-Chair of the East Suffolk Lines Community Rail Partnership.  Tracey has held the role of ATCO Secretary since 2011 and is pleased to work with the other experienced and enthusiastic ATCO Board members, supporting the organisation. 

Stephen Pauling.jpg

Stephen Pauling

Stephen Pauling chairs ATCO’s National Rail Executive(NRE) , a role he has enjoyed for the last five years, with the NRE sitting at the heart of Local Authority relationships with the wider rail industry. Stephen joined Jacobs as Head of Rail Planning in 2017. Through a long-term secondment, Stephen is currently interim Head of Rail and HS2 with Midlands Connect, the Sub-national Transport Body for the East and West Midlands regions. Stephen has a tremendous depth of experience in rail and transportation planning, and has engaged extensively with senior political leaders, including the Mayor of London. Before joining Jacobs, Stephen spent ten years at Transport for London as lead planner who shaped the Crossrail 2 scheme, and prior to that has had a number of roles in Local Authority transport planning.

C Knight.png

Cathy Knight

Cathy has worked in the transport industry for over 30 years working for organisations in the private, industry trade association and public sectors.


She has wide ranging transport experience and has been involved in policy and operational aspects of passenger and sustainable transport, including home to school, SEND, social care and community transport.  However, her key knowledge areas are local bus and ENCTS.  Cathy joined North Yorkshire County Council in 2017 and leads the planning and development of all road passenger transport services for the council. 

Cathy is an ATCO board member and Chair of Bus Exec / Commercial Sector Service Development Manager, North Yorkshire County Council


Damien Jones

Damien has been Head of the Transport Coordination Service (TCS) within Devon County Council since May 2015.  He has developed a career within passenger transport in Devon since 1989 working for both the County Council and Plymouth City Council.  TCS manages all aspects of passenger transport for the County Council as well as a number of other agencies.  This includes Public & Community transport, School & College transport and Social Care transport.  Since May 2016 TCS also includes a team working with the NHS on managing non-emergency patient transport

Susan Davey photo.jpg

Susan Davey CMILT

Susan Davey’s Community Transport sector career extends over 34 years. She is currently in the role of Rural Transport Manager for Suffolk County Council. Her extensive experience has included working for the TFL London Dial-a-Ride service, Tower Hamlets Community Transport, Ipswich Dial-a-Ride and the National Trust before joining the SCC Passenger Transport Unit in 2003.


Susan has served a term on the board of Trustees for the national Community Transport Association (CTA). During 2017 she formed an ATCO Community Transport Special Interest Group; facilitating meetings, collating feedback and data to assess the impact on LA’s following the DfT letter dated 31 July 2017 – The Issue and Use of Section 19 and Section 22 Permits for Road Passenger Transport in Great Britain.


Martin Kemp

Martin has nearly 25 years’ experience in specialist transport provision having worked for Cambridgeshire County Council in Social & Education Transport for 13 years, and in Patient Transport for 10 years prior.Martin Kemp – has nearly 25 years’ experience in specialist transport provision having worked for Cambridgeshire County Council in Social & Education Transport for 13 years, and in Patient Transport for 10 years prior.

Peter Hardy.jpg

Peter Hardy

Peter Hardy is a Technical Director with consultancy Integrated Transport Planning, providing advice and assistance on all aspects of passenger transport policy, planning and provision. Throughout his career in local government and consultancy, he has been an active member and supporter of ATCO (for over 30 years), carrying out various roles. He is currently a member of the ATCO Board and oversees the annual ATCO Benchmarking Survey.